Forums

============
This is a long, detailed post.

I am a non-manager on a european government social security project working in an IT project as Information Analyst. And having been a longtime practitioner of the MT concepts and now wondering:

* How to increase my visibility a project of 269-man/woman ?
* How to communicate effectivley in a such a project?

My localised "view";
* I am an external contractor.
* I am an immigrant, jobs are not in my native language.
* Our team: PM, 3 analysts --> lead analyst, and me + other analyst.
* Dependant on artifacts delivred from external project teams, and the client.

This is a big project. Stepping on the toes of senior people can get your feet burnt.

IT-program;
A lot of prestige is at stake on this project, becos a new social security policy bill has to be implemented in a record time of 8 months, compensating for innefectie/ancient IT-systems and adding new features of the Bill the PM's are pushing to get things done.
* It project to support social security program Bill, going live on 1-jan-2009.
* RUP-methodology, Use Cases for documentation and Enterprise Architect is the design tool.
* Various project teams, for a SOA-architecture.

My participation;
Since being employed on the project at the end of Nov-2007, reading up documentation, distilled processes and written some Use Cases it still is unclear to me on how to perform effectivley a project of this scale.

One-on-ones;
My team lead is hardly ever available for status updates, and PM also busy with whatever leaving me and my fellow analyst unguided. I often approach my PM, teamlead asking for guidance and new assignments. They often have no more than 60 seconds seconds available for discussions / feedback. I would have much like to dicusss quality of work, execution with my PM and Teamlead so as to increase my own work quality.

Odd outcome;